PDA

View Full Version : Burning DVDs from a DVR



azdd
11-03-2007, 11:53 PM
OK techies, I've got a Dish Network DVR and a newly purchased dual unit that includes a DVD player/recorder and VCR. I have started playing with the burner, but have run into a problem. I have some programming from HBO on my DVR, and when I try to burn it to DVD the recording process stops and it says I can't copy protected content. Is there some way to "fool" the DVD burner and bypass the copy protection? /:O

aggieed
11-04-2007, 04:28 AM
Have you tried different types/brands of blank DVDs? I had the same problem when I first bought my DVD burner several months ago, but I figured that whatever brand of blank DVD was the problem. I tried 2-3 different brands, found one that worked, and haven't had a problem since.

WiseGuy_TX
11-04-2007, 07:31 AM
azdd, i assume this does not involve the "HDTV broadcast flag" which i think has not been implemented. That is a another issue entirely.

Two scenarios :
1)It may be that the signal has "macrovision" in it. That method of copy protection has been used for years. Look on the net for "secret codes" to enter on the DVD recorder's remote that will disable macrovision on your model recorder. Maybe they exist.
2)It's more complicated and thus need to search for "dishrip" on google.

Sitri
11-10-2007, 09:51 PM
Try buying an RF modulator to convert the digital signal from your DVR to analog. This should make it stupid and filter out the secret codes. You can get them at Best Buy. Then pipe it into your DVD recorder.

I haven't tried it before. Just a thought.

yoda57us
11-23-2007, 06:04 PM
Try buying an RF modulator to convert the digital signal from your DVR to analog. This should make it stupid and filter out the secret codes. You can get them at Best Buy. Then pipe it into your DVD recorder.

I haven't tried it before. Just a thought.


It should work as the analog RF signal won't pass the protect codes that are buried in the digital signal. The only down side is that there will be some loss of quality in the recored version as you are cutting down your resolution significantly in the conversion process.

Katrine
11-24-2007, 05:45 AM
Semi-criminal activity talk is so sexy!

yoda57us
11-24-2007, 11:40 AM
Semi-criminal activity talk is so sexy!

Yeah it is! The next time I'm in Austin I'll tell you all about my file sharing music downloads...}:D I'm a bad boy...:bullwhip:

Sitri
11-24-2007, 07:49 PM
The preceding ideas are for intellectual stimulation only and are not and endorsement or recommendation to violate any local, state, or federal laws. (cough cough)

azdd
11-25-2007, 07:11 AM
Sounds like an excellent suggestion, I'll give it a try.
Thanks! ;D

maximvsv
11-27-2007, 05:07 AM
Why don't you look that stuff up on Google and all?

Also, you might consider looking for old software that came into existence before whatever copy protection you're addressing.

Lastly, you might consider converting the audio/video/multimedia file from the DVR archive to another format, then back to MPEG4 or so.

BeBomber
08-11-2017, 02:29 AM
Sorry mates,It seems that you know a lot about DVD problems. I have a question about my dvd region code. Several days ago I bought a DVD disc from Europe. Now I am in HK. I converted the region code from 2 to 5 and made it play on my Xbox One with this software (). However, the DVD ran without any sound, while the video waspretty clear. You know what I should do right?

Bahuba
08-15-2017, 03:33 AM
10 year thread bump! Spamalicious!