PDA

View Full Version : Photographers

Vice City Vinnie
03-16-2009, 12:50 PM
I'm a photographer who is looking to get into the industry. I'm wondering if it is better to go in as a freelancer/independent or will a club hire me out as a house photographer???

yoda57us
03-16-2009, 01:01 PM
I'm not an insider but I have been going to clubs and hanging out with dancers, owners and managers for well over twenty years. I have never heard of a club that had a photographer on staff. Actually, I'm not even sure how much work there would be for you from the club's POV. Most dancers don't want their picture taken.

Admittedly I club in the New England area which has some great clubs but is not exactly a high profile area. I'd be curious to see what folks in places like LA, Vegas or NYC have to say about this...

WiseGuy_TX
03-16-2009, 02:50 PM
....i know of two.

For about 15 years, Fantasy Ranch (closed now) near Dallas had a staff guy who took Polaroids of customers with dancers. Cost $20, $10 for him and $10 for the dancer. The guy was once a semi-pro jockey.

The other is the Jackpot clubs in Houston. They have two guys who seem to have been their only contracted freelancers for years. They generally act as if they have staff privileges so maybe they are staff, who knows?

velvet
03-16-2009, 03:36 PM
lol I've NEVER heard of a staff photographer or a polaroid guy at any club i've worked at.

Perry
03-16-2009, 04:34 PM
Our manager always just snapped the polaroids. It was just a bunch of girls bent over around a grinning bachelor or birthday boy. We actually did have one guy who collected photos of dancers in outfits he bought for them, and he was still happy with an amateur shot. Even big promos for the club's website and advertising were just done by managers or dancers.
So you're probably better off hanging out on Model Mayhem or Suicide Girls.

verfolgung
03-17-2009, 12:39 AM