PDA

View Full Version : Insight into women's experience of stripping

AmandaAtkinson
05-15-2016, 11:50 AM
Hi there,

I am a UK based university researcher and artist currently planning an exhibition exploring women's experience of stripping and pole dancing in nightlife locations and treatment by clients.

I'd be most grateful to hear about your experiences of the industry. If anyone is willing to help out, please provide a few words on the following:

1) A short description regarding what working in the industry means to you, how it makes you feel (e.g. empowering, exhausting, lucrative)
2) Examples of words that clients have called you/labelled you.
3) Examples of words that you have been labelled by others due to your work (non-clients)
4) Words you would use to describe your clients

I am taking an objective approach and would like the work to be led by the community.

Best wishes,

Amanda

Selina M
05-15-2016, 12:40 PM
Bye Felicia.

(We don't like "researchers" or people trying to do school projects on us).

Brandi_Lynn
05-15-2016, 12:44 PM
Why not give it a try yourself? Diablo Cody seems to have made a book out her short little masquerade. It's not like our career was been water downed enough anymore & made non profitable because of this shit.

kaninchen
05-15-2016, 02:10 PM
Instead of filtering our experiences through your lens by taking our words and reformatting them for your purpose, consider how poorly we as a stigmatized group are served by being represented through an outsider's pet project. You say you're objective? About what? Are you a 19th century anthropologist observing primitives?

It sounds like you think you have good intentions, which is nice, but if you really want this work to be led by the community, you would listen to us when we say to just stop. Don't.

But if you're hellbent on pursuing it, then hand over your resources and audience to actual strippers and let the subaltern speak.

AmandaAtkinson
05-15-2016, 11:29 PM