PDA

View Full Version : Severe Headache After Sex.......???

Kittie
09-09-2004, 02:27 AM
Ok. I have a problem. Or more accurately my BF has a problem. The last couple of times we've had sex, right as he's cumming and for about 10-20 minutes afterward he has had really intense headaches. Like really bad. Says his head is throbbing and the pain is almost unbearable.

Has this ever happened to anyone else??? Has anyone ever heard of this happening? I think I saw something about it on the "Sunday Night Sex Show" last year but I can't remember what she said about it.

I seems to me like this might be some kind of blood pressure thing or something, but I'm not a doctor so I'm not really sure. Do you guys think this could be a sign of something really serious? Should I make him go to the doctor??

polecat
09-09-2004, 04:44 AM
Post coital headaches are actually not too uncommon amongst males, and 90% of the time they are totally harmless nor a sign of anything unusual.

Still, they can be rarely caused by an aneurysm or some form of restricted blood vessels or vascular disorder (neck, chest or similar).. so your husband should have an angiogram performed to rule out any possible health related issues.

Barring any possible health issues, he can probably find complete relief through the use of indomethacin (Indocin), which they will likely prescribe for him.

SportsWriter2
09-09-2004, 01:48 PM
They're called exertion headaches. Sex is an aerobic sport. The harder and longer you play, the more you need Gatorade (during and after).

Kittie
09-09-2004, 06:00 PM
What's an angiogram? Is it invasive or painful?

Casual Observer
09-11-2004, 09:26 AM
Hydration helps greatly in this regard.

Ahem, I mean that's what a friend of mine says, erm. Ahem.

mr_punk
09-11-2004, 05:35 PM