PDA

View Full Version : NY Based Documentary on Stripping - HBO

Mimi NY
10-08-2005, 07:38 PM
Hey,

I'm a NY based journalist and stripper, working with an independent film company (Incite Pictures, funded by HBO) making a documentary on strippers in NY. The film is going to be based around the girl's lives more than the club - whether they're immigrants, problems they've endured getting here, how they survive from day to day. We're at the research stage and have been to aprroximately 20 clubs in NY trying to find the right club and right girls. The main problem is - girls don't want to be filmed, for reasons we can all understand. Me - I don't care. I've been in the NY Times and I'm not ashamed of my story. So this is a plea for all those NY based strippers out there to get in touch if you think you can help us find the right club and girls. The more stories the club has, the better, a la Nickels or Sweet Cherry. The more stories *you* have, the better. Perhaps you could be perfect for this documentary. Please do get in touch, either via email [email protected] or http://www.miminewyork.com

eyeawry
10-08-2005, 10:40 PM
FYI, gals - Mimi writes one of my favorite blogs ever. Definitely check it out.

PleasureVictim
10-09-2005, 09:30 AM
If I was a dancer I would've loved to be in this documentary- I love them more than movies.

Have you tried posting on craigslist?

BigGreenMnM
10-09-2005, 09:49 AM
From what i have seen,to include the last docu-shocku that HBO did(divas),the clubs and the girls who do it are gone in 5.

All the girls go away for assorted reasons,the clubs shut down.

The people who need the money the most are the ones to lose it the fastest.

I think if HBO can PAY actors to portray the lives of undertakers,and turn a hit,I think they can PAY strippers to become actors and portray nameless clubs and nameless dancers,in namesless cities in nameless states.