PDA

View Full Version : Roadie advice please

Twin Tattoo
10-30-2006, 03:23 PM
A feature dancer has asked me to be her roadie. She is just about to start up her tour and knew I was looking for a change in my life. However, I have never done it before though. I would appreciate the thoughts of people here. Such as: Should I even do it? What can I expect? Do's and don't's. She just dropped me an email so we haven't talked about pay but what should I expect? What's the norm?

FYI, I'm 6'3", 230 lbs, fit, single, no childs, and 42 years old.

FBR
10-30-2006, 05:15 PM
Hi TT..welcome :)

Youre younger than me but not a kid. I cant see it as a long term thing but it could be fun as a way to get the hell out of dodge for a while. But I would be concerned if there would be enough money left over after her "expenses" for you to make a decent buck. I'm assuming you would be working on a percentage of her earning similar to a golf caddie as opposed to a straight salary. If other perks come along, you would need to decide how those play in.

Good luck.

FBR

Katrine
10-30-2006, 08:00 PM
Ugh, definately not YOU! I'd feel bad for the lady.....

Twin Tattoo
10-30-2006, 09:17 PM
Thanks for the welcome, FBR. ;D

As for being a roadie, yeah, it is something that I view as just a nice change for a bit. Not a career.

I sent her an email that I was tentatively interested but needed to know more about what the job would entail. She's now replied back with the following.

+ She tours five months on and takes one month off. Her months off are June and December. She would swing by here to pick me up and we will do November together. If, after that month, we find that we get along and I'm still interested, she wants me to sign a five-month contract for her Jan-May tour. We would take it one tour at a time. She's not asking for any further out commitment than that. During her month off, she doesn't schedule the next tour but the one following it.