View RSS Feed

minnow

Police Stop Stories

Rate this Entry
A recent post by a TX dancer about a DUI/DWI stop after her shift prompted me to post this blog about some personal true stories, including one that I've pm'ed to others.

I am not a lawyer or crusader. My "brushes" with the law have not resulted in excessive points or suspensions. Yes, I've "bitten the bullet" by mailing in the fine, yet other times I've been let off with a warning.

Some common sense guidelines that just might make the difference between a warning, and a ticket:

1). No matter how PO'ed, or how much of a hurry you're in, accept the fact that you have now been nailed, and are paying "the cost of speeding/hurrying". You will see the wisdom of adopting this mindset in final paragraph.

2). The police officer is in command. Arguing, or trying to "hurry along" the situation can only make things worse. Comply with the requests, providing what he/she asks for when they ask. Nothing more, nothing less. Do so in a slow, deliberate manner (Re- #1 above). If they ask for license first, followed by registration, produce them in that order, telegraphing your moves- eg- "My registration is in glove compartment , behind visor, wherever."

Doing the above probably won't prevent a ticket if you were doing triple digit speeds down the interstate, or running a red light, but anything to convince officer that you're not a knucklehead could make the difference between a warning, and a ticket.

Some true stories: 1A & 1B: In 1st case, I was going slightly fast when I was pulled over in a rental car. Turns out he wanted to stop me for an expired state inspection sticker on rental car. As I was starting out on a 2 hour drive in car, returning short distance to rental agency, and exchanging for a car with a current sticker saved me from multiple potential hassles later on.