Review Sapphire « Previous Club | Next Club »  
 
Unread Posted: 04-30-2021, 04:23 PM   #6
rocohoee
Curious Guest
 
Joined: Apr 2021
Age: 26
Posts: 3
Reviews: 1
Mood: Happy Happy
Female

Post Overrated but yes you can make $$ Review
Review
Date at Club: No Comment Customers per Dancer: No Comment Management: No Comment
Overall Rating: Not rated by rocohoee Mileage Expected: No Comment Booking Delay: No Comment
Dancer Quality: No Comment Customers: No Comment
Fees: No Comment Dances per Customer: No Comment Selling dances: No Comment
Hiring Tips: None
Additional Information
I’ve worked at Sapphire 60 and 39. Incredibly corporate and cold environment - people are curt with you given the high turnover, girls at 39 were nicer than at 60 because 60 is the main club and most competitive. You can make decent money on the floor, best way is rooms however. The fact that it’s a 1099 club ruined it for me, and it often takes days to pick up a check after you cash in your funny money. I would rather work in all $$ clubs. No one cares about you here and it’s apparent. 39 is more diverse in terms of body type and ethnicity, also the most flexible with scheduling as you can come and go as you please as long as you stay for at least 8 hours. House fees are cheaper, like $40-60 if you come early enough. Lots of “average” looking girls work this location so if you are a knockout you will get a lot of attention. Harder to sell rooms here. Audition process: they take you downstairs, you change into your dress and heels, go up to the stage with the pole and dance for like 30 seconds. You need to get undressed quickly. Must be in full glam with mani pedi done and not chipped. Then the house mom will tell you y/n and you will start your paperwork which takes forever, and they finger print you. You need to get a regulation thong from them and can either wear a short dress or lingerie + robe with panties doubled up. Sandals required though I think boots are allowed on weekends. 60 is more white girls with some extremely beautiful latinas and black girls. Everyone is skinny, tight bodies, lots of fake boobs - big booty not needed but you can have one as long as it’s not botched bbl looking. Hair needs to be worn down and straight or loose waves. Short dresses and sandal pleasers, no boots and nothing “too strippery” or “trashy” allowed. House fees are like $80+ base depending on when you arrive and then the mandatory “dressing room fee” to pay out the makeup and hair people even though girls barely use them and it’s a waste of money. You can make money on the floor but best hustle is to sell rooms. After taxes tbh it’s not that impressive. I did a 2 hr VIP and at close they forgot about me, I wandered out of the room because it seemed like we had been in there too long and everyone was cleaning up / gone. Tips to hosts are not mandatory but I feel you have to pay them off to get in with the good clients. Waitresses aggressively and awkwardly push overpriced champagne while you are in VIP which frequently makes customers uncomfortable/mad and then you have to sit there apologetically as they get ripped off. Audition process: house mom will take you to the satellite stage to dance for 30 seconds, again you need to get undressed super quickly - no tricks necessary just look confident and “classy”. Manager gives her a y/n which she will then communicate to you. They have a minimum of 3 days I think and at least one needs to be a slow day. Extras happen all the time in the VIP rooms of these clubs, management knows but if you get in legal trouble they’ll throw you under the bus. However the rooms are so expensive that you’re pretty secure.
 
Unread Posted: 10-02-2017, 05:14 AM   #5
ZeroSugarMonster
Veteran Member
 
Joined: Dec 2014
Age: 35
Posts: 585
Reviews: 5
Mood: Happy Happy
Female

Post Review
Review
Date at Club: 07/01/2017 Customers per Dancer: No Comment Management: Could Improve
Overall Rating: Rated: 8 stars by ZeroSugarMonster Mileage Expected: Serious Mileage Booking Delay: Several Days
Dancer Quality: 7-8 Customers: Mixed
Fees: Average Dances per Customer: 0-1 Selling dances: Easy
Hiring Tips: Have lots of plastic surgery; plastic is fantastic here/glam-look; be in shape
Additional Information
I don't really know what to make of this club. A lot of negative is said on here and I'm not sure if it is true or not. Tuscl reviews do not correspond with what is said here, but I would not doubt that the club has a solid team in place to manage their reviews and their image. This brings me to the good bit about the club. It seems to do A TON of promotion, which brings a lot of ppl into the club. So even if they are not spending huge sums of money, they are buying a dance here or there and spending money on booze. The club also has special features such as porn stars or dj or themed days (e. g. Party Night on Sunday, for example) to bring a crowd. Ultimately, this helps the dancers. The fees can be low. It is less if you come in early. Fees also decrease if you do promotion, if you sell expensive alcohol, if you refer guests via guest cards provided by the club, etc. Staff is professional. House moms can be a bit stand-offish but that's mostly bc the club is very busy, corporate and lots of commotion always going on. I don't agree with the other posters that they mess up house fee reports. I've never been asked to pay any additional house fees I did not owe. But then again, I was vigilant about them inputting my pay into the system. This place gets very hectic and sometimes, the house moms need to be reminded to do things twice. They are humans. Some of the bouncers and hosts even try to help me out by pointing me to the tables that may want dances. One of the hosts approached me my first day and invited me to do promotion for the club. That didn't materialize, but nonetheless, still a nice gesture. At first, money has been very good for me. Most of the vip rooms I've sold, the customer suggested it first, not I. However, the club does stick you in the rooms via the hosts your first few days/weeks there, so that helps a lot. Unlike most dancers, I actually like the fact that the club issues checks on the funny money turned in. In the past two months I've worked, I've used all my funny money to pay house fees and not once turned it in for a check (yet). When you do turn your money in for a check, the house takes 5% as a processing fee, rather than the 10% that is average in most NYC clubs. You also get a nice neat little print out of ALL the tips and house fees paid in one piece of paper, rather than multiple receipts for different things as is the case with other clubs around the city. As far as the negatives, I think most of this board touched on all of them as much as I can. Maybe it's bc the club is corporate, maybe bc it's a dressed-up [fill in the blank with a word of your own choosing], but the sense is that no one here cares about you. I've danced all over LA, Vegas, a few places in SF, NOLA, NJ and a few other joints in NYC, and I've never seen girls treated as badly by the staff/management. Here, I've seen a couple of dancers break down and cry in the dressing room bc they were put in a vip room with a guy who was much too drunk and therefore, unsafe; bc the staff had screamed at them in front of everyone in the dressing room for losing a sale; bc the customer refused to pay up $40; bc the customer pulled down a dancer's underwear in the common area, with her being the one reprimanded in front of everyone for slapping him; etc etc. I've never ever in my life seen such drama. Someone supposedly had thousands of dollars stolen from their locker my second day of working at the joint, and the staff held all the girls after closing to search their bags. My third month of working there, we had "surprise" bag searches by the bouncers upon leaving. Good thing I didn't steal anything, so am pretty complicit in having my bags searched. But still, this sort of policy implemented by management sends out a very clear message to everyone that the working environment is not safe, that your own co-workers are not to be trusted, and thereby, promoting a hostile work place. Upon hiring, management makes a big deal about how security runs a tight ship on the premises, but from what I've seen security is strict in controlling their dancers like cattle, not the clientele. We are not allowed to have our phones on the floor. No gum. Same rules don't apply to customers. There is a weekly schedule, but it is supposedly not mandatory. They've been pretty lax with me about the schedule, and I've been coming in only about 1-2x/week. The customers take photos and videos on a regular basis. The bouncers and dj make a show of policing the practice but if they actually cared, the customers would not be allowed to use their phones on the floor in the first place, like in most upscale clubs. I've seen coke used out right in the open. There are vip spots customers can purchase on the floor where they can draw the curtains for additional privacy. These spaces can be used for dances or whatever. Once again, maybe this is how things are done in nyc, but I've never seen such blatant drug use out in the open and I've danced ALL OVER. Rooms cost 630-800/half hour up to 1100-1600/full hour, with the dancer's cut being 280/half hour to 480/half hour. You're expected to tip, 20%. I think I might have said something about this tipping policy to "a friend" at work who was being extra friendly with me for whatever reason, and after that, I wasn't pressured as much to tip the hosts. Given the high cost of the rooms, the customers do in fact seem to expect a certain caliber of service. Add alcohol to the mix and there is a potential for a lot of bit of coercion and non-consent. It's a constant battle getting them to even keep their pants on, and fingers away from my vagina, while in the rooms. I don't think I've been pressured for sexual favors ANYWHERE in NYC as much as here and I've worked at a few places around the country which have a, ahem, "a reputation" for being whore houses, not rape houses. It makes me sad that the management actually works with the local pd to turn you in to the police after making SO. MUCH. MONEY. off of you, just to deflect any blame of themselves. With that said, it makes sense to hustle the customers for dances on the floor and make my $200/half hour for my time that way without all the bs. Since it's a high-end joint, a lot of high-end customers. I think the night club environment of the club scares away all the rich grandpas (at least that's the case on the weekends) but plenty of alpha, under 40 yuppies and trust-fund-babies who can be very generous. However, it doesn't seem to be as exclusive as it can be. It seems to bring in pretty much anyone to make alcohol sales. So I'd say the client-base is mixed. Some guys are very nice. Some guys not so much so. A lot of customers get very nasty without any sort of repercussion from management. I've heard girls complain about "getting slapped around". Still again, no repercussion from security-that is, unless it's the dancer slapping the customer for sexual assault. I've had two of the make-up people make very rude remarks towards me regarding my looks. One suggested I get some botox and lip injections. On another day, she laughed at how I did my eye liner and told me it looked bad. Another commented on how dry and pasty my skin looked. If I was truly ugly, I probably would not make any money at this club, given the high level of competition here with the number of girls working. So I'm not sure what prompted these comments. I don't look like a stripper, but I don't think I'm ugly. Nights can be late, which sucks. But this is nyc and there is no day shift. I've been told that all the money to be made is to be made early here 6pm-2am but since I worked on the weekends, the weekends tend to be late which sucks unless you are disciplined enough to ensure that it doesn't. I auditioned three years ago, twice, in November-December and did not get hired. I auditioned this time around and got hired but am relegated to what is considered the worse shifts or the "starter". The money has been consistent for me at first but has tapered off as we've moved into September and October. A lot of girls talk about huge money being possible at this club, so perhaps this is the case but it's definitely a hit-or-miss scenario much like anywhere in this industry nowadays with above-average-earning potential if you're hot. If you'd like to try this club, make sure you're super hot and plastic-y. Make sure you are ok with working in a high-core, party-vibe, over-stimulating environment, as it can drain you very quickly if you are prone to that. Alos, read the reviews by the other dancers. They might not be as thorough as this but in my opinion, make some valid points which is why I'm going to look for another club with equally good earning potential, but with a more convenient work schedule for me and a greater vested interest in their dancers.
 
Unread Posted: 01-15-2016, 03:28 PM   #4
sexyjasmine112
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Location: Hartford,Ct
Age: 31
Posts: 5
Reviews: 4
Mood: Happy Happy
Female

Post Dehumanizing Staff/Club not that Busy Review
Review
Date at Club: 01/14/2016 Customers per Dancer: No Comment Management: Horrible
Overall Rating: Rated: 1 stars by sexyjasmine112 Mileage Expected: No Comment Booking Delay: A Day or Two
Dancer Quality: 5-6 Customers: Young
Fees: Average Dances per Customer: No Comment Selling dances: You have to hustle
Hiring Tips: Get there early, wear a short dress.
Additional Information
Listen to all traveling dancers taking the risk to come here. Be aware that this club takes 2 hours to process all your information before you can work the floor. The Staff is horrible!!!! The desk girl in the front treats you like a dog and expects you to obey her..hilarious. The House moms invades your bags and look through every tiny zipper looking for drugs. Without telling you! Then the House mom does the audition, not the manager!! Also, after you finally DO audition after waiting in the corner for 30 minutes, they then tell you their going to do a background check on you! Why? This place treats the girls like they are criminals!!!! To be fair, the club for midnight on a Thursday was not very busy or exciting as the website! Looking for a whale? Good luck with over 100 girls working and the club is half empty. If you are comfortable dealing with all those harsh restrictions and working with a limited clientele, be my guest. I do not advise traveling girls to come here, it takes a long time to do paperwork, about 2 hours. Also, it is located in a tiny corner street in not the best part of town. Maybe this club was hot years ago, not so much anymore. Girls were average in looks department, With my big boobs I felt that I stood out.
 
Unread Posted: 01-06-2016, 01:17 AM   #3
Kate1029
Curious Guest
 
Joined: Jan 2016
Age: 29
Posts: 0
Reviews: 2
Mood: Happy Happy
Female

Post First club in NYC I worked at Review
Review
Date at Club: 11/30/2015 Customers per Dancer: No Comment Management: Horrible
Overall Rating: Rated: 3 stars by Kate1029 Mileage Expected: Medium Contact Booking Delay: No Comment
Dancer Quality: 5-6 Customers: Mixed
Fees: Extreme Dances per Customer: 2-3 Selling dances: Easy
Hiring Tips: Smile, tight body, don't apply in the first place
Additional Information
About myself: I am 5'9, 130 pounds, blonde, girl next door type with fake breasts. I am super prude and will barely let you see my vagina. I've never done extras to make money and never will. (Stripping is not the most honest career but I like to keep my dignity). I worked here for 3 nights and made over $1000 each night with no help from bouncers. The bouncers have "their girls" (that will do extras) and will try to replace you. floor dances are $20 and I don't even know what the rooms go for because they make it a point for dancers not to discuss the room prices because it can easily be mistaken for prostitution if under cover cops ask? (That was my first red flag) the whole club is so unorganized. The house mom, management, bartenders, waitresses, djs, bouncers have no clue what's going on. They all seem to act really important and don't have the time of day to talk to the dancers. I tried to introduced myself to multiple bouncers and they all ignored me which led to me not tipping them because I can make money on my own. Selling $20 floor dances is super easy you can make an easy $500 without doing vip rooms. with most vip rooms you get the "what do I get if we go in a room?" My answer, "a private dance in a private room". which weirdly guys were usually ok with. I would get the occasional eye roll and "well I come here all the time" or "everyone else does it"... Whatever. Champagne girls or whatever you call it hastle the guy to buy a bottle of champagne, I just shut up and let her do her thing even tho it usually makes the guy feel awkward and he regrets spending his money on you (your house fee can go down with champagne points). Funny money is a complete joke and they write you a check. No one knows when or when you cannot hand in funny money for a check. No one knows what the hell is going on here. They held my check for $600 because they lost the other half of my funny money. It's all a serious joke. This is one reason I will never work here again. Second reason is the house mom ripped me off 2 nights in a row, making me pay $210 to work saying I didn't pay something the previous night I worked, which also led to them holding my check. NEVER AGAIN SUPER UNORGANIZED AND THE STAFF IS A JOKE
 
Unread Posted: 11-09-2013, 06:45 AM   #2
starlily
Veteran Member
 
Joined: May 2013
Age: 28
Posts: 218
Reviews: 2
Mood: Happy Happy
Female

Exclamation It's a brothel. Review
Review
Date at Club: 10/09/2013 Customers per Dancer: No Comment Management: Could Improve
Overall Rating: Rated: 1 stars by starlily Mileage Expected: Serious Mileage Booking Delay: No Comment
Dancer Quality: 9-10 Customers: Young
Fees: High Dances per Customer: 0-1 Selling dances: Average
Hiring Tips: None
Additional Information

The previous review is pretty spot-on.

Pros:

-Relatively low house fees for Manhattan ($124, and that includes tipouts)

-Nice housemoms

And now for the cons. They deserve a bit more detail than just a bulleted list.

The customers are mostly under-40 alpha-male yuppies who don't understand they can't always conquer and take what they want, which is pretty awful for you if you're dealing with them in a back room. I was never raped outright, but I was assaulted in one way or another almost every time I sold a room, whether it was being shoved into a wall and them mashing their mouth over my lips, getting bitten, spanked, or my breasts grabbed and squished so roughly it made my eyes water, guys who pull their penis out and forcibly pull my hand onto it, or the guy who used one arm to hold me against his chest while he jammed his fingers into my vagina... I could go on. Usually we hadn't even had time to sit down yet.

When I told them they couldn't do that, I heard a lot of colorful things ("Why do you have to be like this?" "You don't have to be a bitch about it." "I'm not paying $580 to not have sex with you" etc) but the most common argument they gave was "Well, none of the other girls have a problem with it." Yep, there were customers that went there regularly and claimed they had never had a girl refuse to do extras before. One guy said I'd ripped him off and he wanted his money back.

Finally I realized that the VIP situation wasn't going to improve, so I decided to make money by doing an asston of floor dances instead. If you do decide to work at Sapphire and do this, work Thurs-Fri-Sat. Sunday through Wednesday are usually kinda empty, and you're going to need quantity if you want to make it worth your while after house fees.

But even just doing floor dances can suck. The hosts, the other girls, and the customers are a really annoying mix. Even if you're not taking them to a back room, the customers are arrogant and will either tell you to go away in irritation or give you a slimy knowing smile, as if to to say "I know you want it you slut." During floor dances, in full view of everyone else in the club, they will sometimes STILL try to finger you or bite your nipples.

The hosts will actively sabotage you if you're sitting with a customer that they want to hook one of "their" girls up with. Just as an example, I was sitting and talking with this guy who had ordered champagne and looked like a baller, and a host came up with one of his girls and interrupted: "This is Star." And the customer was like, "It's ok, I'm fine with the dancer I'm with." And then the host persisted- "Well, she'd really like to talk to you." And the customer went "I'm. Not. Interested." The host and his girl stood there awkwardly for a few seconds and then went away, and I guess the reason I'm talking about this peculiar instance is that usually it didn't happen that way- usually the host successfully replaced me with one of his own girls, sometimes with a quiet word to the customer that sent them both hurrying off to the VIP. It would have been nice to get my foot in the door with the hosts so I could have been the replacer instead of the replacee, but I have a sneaking suspicion that they work with extras girls only, since extras girls are more marketable and will stay in the rooms for longer, making the host more money.

My last day was the worst. A girl who was popular with the hosts was sitting with a group of customers, and one of them flagged me down and got a dance. He was too grabby and gross but he paid well and then he sent his other friend over for a lapdance. So I was dancing, and nasty customer kept pulling my thong aside and trying to grab my crotch, and I kept grabbing his wrist and moving his hand away. Mid-song a host came over and pulled me away from the customer. Hallelujah, the host had finally done his job and prevented me from getting fingerbanged again. Or so I thought.

Instead, the host started telling me he'd heard from numerous sources that I was masturbating in front of the customer and that he could see what the customer was doing and that I needed to control it better. He added, "I get complaints about you all the time. Take a look at this." He pulled a letter out of his jacket pocket. It didn't say anything about me at all, it was just a request that girls stop allowing so much contact on the floor. "I'm the head of security and if you don't tone it down, sweetie, I'm going to have to tell the manager." Then he added: "But why don't you take it to the VIP? You can do whatever you want back there, it's none of my business." Yes... the head of security actually suggested that I prostitute.

Meanwhile, the girl that had been talking with that same group of customers watched me get yelled at for a couple seconds with a feral, hungry expression on her face, and then immediately swooped in and started talking to the guy I'd been dancing for. Then I understood the real point of the host's intervention.

Sapphire looks classy, but it's just a thin veneer of glamor made possible by the den of expensive prostitution within. Nobody deserves to be treated as if they were less than human, so please, go somewhere else where you will leave feeling excited about all the money you've made, rather than upset because everyone is constantly trying to force you to go too far.

I should add that if you actually ARE a prostitute you could probably do very well here.

 

Unread Posted: 09-20-2011, 06:53 PM   #1
Emanuelle
Veteran Member
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: The Emerald City
Age: 38
Posts: 359
Reviews: 9
Mood: Happy Happy
Female

Post RE: Sapphire Strip Club Review Review
Review
Date at Club: No Comment Customers per Dancer: No Comment Management: The Best
Overall Rating: Rated: 3 stars by Emanuelle Mileage Expected: No Comment Booking Delay: No Comment
Dancer Quality: No Comment Customers: No Comment
Fees: Low Dances per Customer: No Comment Selling dances: Easy
Hiring Tips: None
Additional Information
When I started working here I loved this place because they get a lot of good clientele from the neighborhood, and guys who used to go there when it was the original Scores. After a while I started to realize that the management is the laziest and most disorganized in the city. Especially one named Mike Ho, who may only be an assistant manager, but he clearly has more responsibility than he can handle. Every day seems like his first day, and no matter how fervently he promises to take care of an issue he will have no idea what you are talking about when you follow up. He will usually refer you to someone else when you ask for help, who will then, always, refer you back to him. The managers tell all the new hosts and security they hire not to believe anything we say because dancers are all a bunch of scamming liars. The hosts encourage customers to try to have sex with the dancers because it generates bigger tips for themselves and they believe we are all prostitutes anyway, they are very open about selling drugs to the customers, and they openly sit around the perimeter of the floor doing drugs together themselves. The hosts and managers make a lot of mistakes, probably because they are all on drugs the whole time, and then don't pay any attention to us when we try to fix the mistakes because they say we are just lying or scamming. This place LOVES to hold your money if you are paid on a credit card. I think they hold all the money you make for your first two weeks, so if you are a traveling dancer don't bother coming here. Any time a customer spends $5,000 or more in a night, not just on you, not just on himself, but the whole night, on himself and his clients/friends, they will hold the dancers' money. This is also the only club in town where customers can buy condoms in the bathroom. I kid you not. I was getting pressured by a customer in a room and I said I couldn't possibly be irresponsible enough to do anything without a condom, thinking that would end the discussion without offending him, but he went to the restroom and came back with one. I worked here for about a year, and in that time every nice girl who started left within a few months. Eventually it was just me and a bunch of mean Latina hookers who kept spraying their vaginas with feminine deodorant, most likely to cover the smell of the oozing herpes sores. At that point I had to leave too. Also, one house mom, Margaret, is wonderful and does a great job. The other two just seem to let Margaret do all the work and have no understanding that since we are paying them they are working for us and should be helpful. The pros are that it is a relatively inexpensive club. If you get there by 8 I think it's $60 most days, and $80 on wednesday & thursday. everything is $20 extra if paid with funny money. housemom, hair & makeup are $44 total, dj $20. you can earn free house fees by selling champagne and doing promos. You get one house fee per $1,000 of champagne sold, wednesday and thursday nights take double that amount. You really have to ride the waitresses to report that you sold the champagne because they are lazy, and sometimes give the credit to their friends instead, and the management doesn't care if you complain, so you just need to make sure you deal with it on your own and make sure the house mom has your name and the amount sold on a list at the end of the night. If she doesn't, then you are not getting credit. In the rooms you get paid $480 for the hour and $280 for half. The girls who cash you out really like pressuring you to tip the hosts. They expect 20-30% of your money. They will help you out a lot if you tip them, but be aware that they will expect you to do whatever their customer wants. When I was new I was asked point blank to perform specific sexual acts on customers by the hosts and called boring when I declined. I was never utilized by them after that. So my opinion of this club is that they have a lot of great customers, and a lot of potential, but the management is very bad, and the workers take advantage of the weak and disorganized management as well as taking advantage of the dancers. If you can make money while avoiding the management and hosts, and ALWAYS get paid in cash then you will do just fine. If you don't mind going the extra mile some girls make lots and lots of money there, just be willing to take the chance that sometimes you won't get paid for weeks, months, or ever.
 
Review Sapphire « Previous Club | Next Club »